“Friends Don’t Let Friends Plant Annuals”

I saw this sentiment today on a Tee shirt Plant Delights Nursery is selling in their catalog. If this is sly wit-a touch of irony- I approve of it, but if  it is serious, I do not.

In the long border of my old garden I grew Flamingo Feather celosias, bright pink globe amaranths, the tall Blue Horizon ageratum.  In October they were still in bloom -for nothing about summer stopped them. I remember a young woman I worked with coming to my garden just before her wedding to pick flowers for the ceremony.

She picked annuals, for in Tennessee there are no peonies in July. We barely have them in May, for they bloom only a few days, and many of their buds brown and rot in the heat and wet.

I do not care for plant snobbery, for in Tennessee we are glad to have any plant that survives. What would the country women do without their tub petunias,their basket impatiens.? Their 10 foot cannas?

And remember that many”annuals” are perennials somewhere. What would we do without our tender salvias? It would be enough to make a hummingbird weep-

About talesofanashvillegardener

Professional gardener, Experimental Cook. Constant Reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

