Scenes from a West Meade Garden- May 22, 2014

The Tropical Milkweed (Asclepias curassavica) in this photo came from Creekside nursery in Belle Meade. I bought it as a “mother” plant to use for seed, but have learned that its cuttings root in water. It blooms all summer, unlike our native Asclepias tuberosa, which I am raising from seed this year.

I think the combination of orange and chartreuse is a striking one. The sedum in this photo is the old pass- a- long yellow and green, seen all over this city. A woman named Helene, who lived over off Charlotte Pike gave it to me, and when I left my house and garden my plants went to Green Hills, and later to this garden.

 

Image

The white hardy Salvia nemerosa(I think) in the background came to this garden riding in a massive pot this garden’s owner bought at an estate sale at a mansion off Post Road in West Meade. The American Columbines were seedlings from the Green Hills garden.

I love all the sunset colors, and I think they, no matter how gaudy some may think them, are needed in our strong sunlight. White and pastels wash out at noon, and are best seen at dawn and dusk.

Another view of this narrow border, with a Knock Out rose blooming in the foreground-

Image

No Rose Rosette disease on this plant, but its leaves have been chewed on by Rose Slugs, which are little green inch worms. The owner sprayed some dish washing soap on them, but I do not know how well well it is working. I ignore bugs most of the time, and if a plant is miffy and cannot thrive without spraying I toss it out, though in this garden I do not have carte blanche to toss out roses.

Here is the self-seeded Linaria purpurea, the Purple Toadflax. Its ancestors came from my old Bellevue garden. It is biennial, and after blooming dries up and dies. But there are volunteers galore, enough for ten gardens. The original seed for this came from Thompson and Morgan. It was the pink version, known as “Canon Went”. It mostly reverts to purple, though it sometimes seeds a pink one. It can survive in wall crevices and driveway cracks, and I have found it in the shade garden as well. It is as adaptable as the old timey Pink Balsam, now coming up in the wall alongside it, though not in this photo.

Image

And here is proof that tropical gingers will survive the Nashville winter. This is “Daniel Weeks”, a yellow Hedychium from Plant Delights.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

About talesofanashvillegardener

Professional gardener, Experimental Cook. Constant Reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

